ADVERTISEMENT

Visiting Austin Monday-Wednesday

Bama_Teacher_inTX

Jul 18, 2015
Hey Longhorn fans, I am a Bama graduate and teach middle school in Lubbock. My wife has a training session in Austin this week, and I am coming with her. We need some good recommendations for local restaurants. Suggestions for good bbq, Mexican, and burger joints would be highly appreciated. We also have a 1 year old, so waiting in line for 27 hours at Franklin BBQ probably won't work for us. We are definitely looking forward to visiting Austin. This will be my first to the capital.

Your wife will love Mandola's Italian Market in the Triangle. When I go up to Austin that is one of the places my wife loves.

Dude, stop in Llano, get Cooper's bbq. Mexican food, Guerro's on south congress. Or the enchilada plate at dart bowl. Be warned. Burgers, Hut's. Breakfast, do pancakes at kirby lane (make you slap your momma).

Drive back to lubbock, pine for austin food every day after.

OK I usually never even log in to post anything, but please do not go to f'ing Mandola's at the triangle. It's not awful, but it'd be such a waste of trip to Austin.

I would take somebody to Magnolia's, 100%. Don't even consider Kirby Lane.

East Side Cafe is also very good, though a bit nicer, on Manor rd.

Red River Cafe is my hole in the wall, low key favorite. Austin Java is also a good spot, especially if you're a bit of a health nut - lots of options for gluten free, vegan, etc.

Juan in a Million might not be the best breakfast tacos in town, but it's certainly the largest and most filling. It's a good place to check out.

Torchy's Tacos is pretty good and a good representation of Austin tacos.

A good, Austiny choice is to go to one of the food truck parks (I forget where these are, but there are a few of them around) - outside, good atmosphere, obviously a large selection for anybody's appetite.