ADVERTISEMENT

Dead Board Blues? Help a Brother Out With High School Football....

freeper

Jan 6, 2005
Since it is the dead season around these parts, it seems the perfect time to ask The Dungeon if y'all would be inclined to help me out with some research topics I've been toying with. Some of you know that I am a history professor in SE Texas. My research interest regards high school football experiences both on and off the field. So who would be willing to provide me with some basic information such as whether and where you played, when you played, what factors drove you to play, what was the community support like? Did you play other sports as well and which ones?

My research is going to be relative to the Civil War Experience in shaping sports culture in the South. This board seems as good a place as any to start gathering data. So who would be interested in helping a brother out?

Reactions: diadevic
You need to start your research with one district. Back in the day it was District 4 5A.
If you look at the original members-- going back to the 1930s-40s or so- it was Odessa, Permian, Midland, Midland Lee, San Angelo Central, Abilene and Big Spring--- I think there may have been one more in there.
But if you look at the 2 teams that played in the state title game going back-- there was about a 40 year period in there where a team FROM that district seemed to make it almost every damn year.
I don't remember all the historical details as I researched this back in the late 80s while I was still a kid. But I remember thinking "fvck-- that must have been a tough ass district to play in" because it seemed like every year one of the teams from that district was playing for the title.

Reactions: freeper
You need to start your research with one district. Back in the day it was District 4 5A.