ADVERTISEMENT

Washington a charade - my favorite Senator speaks

msuhorn

Views herein do not necessarily reflect my views
Gold Member
Jan 6, 2002
NZ
Nothing earth shattering, but we need more people like Coburn (on the left or right) in Congress. Someone who actually does what they believe is best for the country.

Now that Sen. Tom Coburn has retired from Congress, who will publicize government spending on things like Swedish massages for rabbits and "Sesame Street" remakes for Pakistan?

Battling prostate cancer, the Oklahoma physician vacated his seat in December, two years before his second term was up. He leaves behind a legacy marked by government transparency efforts and is perhaps best known for his annual "Wastebook," in which he listed federally funded projects he found to be frivolous.

In several ways, Coburn bucked the norm in the increasingly polarized Congress. An obstetrician by profession, he earned the nickname "Dr. No" for opposing bills even championed by his fellow Republicans if he believed they would spend federal dollars ineffectively.But while Coburn's fiercely conservative, he has one of the friendliest relationships with President Obama of any Republican.

Coburn has since joined the Manhattan Institute for Policy Research to consult for its "Project FDA" - an effort to reform the Food and Drug Administration to help the agency approve drugs more quickly and regulate them more effectively. He recently spoke with the Washington Examiner about what he's up to and why he thinks more members of Congress should retire.

RELATED: From the wacky to the infuriating, Coburn's annual Wastebook catalogs government waste in lean times

Washington Examiner: Now that you're out of Congress, what advice would you like to give your former colleagues?