50 Year Anniversary - Kirk Bohls (Your Favorite Sportswriter)

bclear1

Gold Member
Aug 14, 2012
Austin
Behind a paywall. I think @Ketchum should interview him! :cool:

I'll copy and paste some excerpts. Yeah, I'm the last Austin American-Statesman subscriber. Kirk Bohls was a senior writing for the Daily Texas, when I was a freshman at UT. We go wayyy back!

Note the quotes in boldface.

"Listen, my journalism professors at Texas all told me if you weren’t pissing off some readers, you weren’t doing the job right. You want half the audience to hate you and the other half to think you’re a homer."

"When I once asked the legendary Jones Ramsey the difference between the 1970s and the 1950s, he said, “Putting up with turds like you.”

"My sports claim to fame is very brief. I was a Little League All-Star. I’m in the UT Intramural Hall of Fame. I suffered a broken neck while making a tackle as a high school monster man (safety). And I did try out for the Longhorns tennis team."

"My three favorite events are the College World Series, Texas-OU and the Masters."

"I teamed up with former colleagues Suzanne Halliburton and Mark Wangrin. We wrote series about assistant coach Jamie Ciampaglio’s stealing Texas basketball players’ meal money and storing it in his freezer, mob-style. A steroid scandal involving the UT football team and forged prescriptions. A series on homosexuality in sports. A spying controversy in which Darrell Royal accused Barry Switzer and Oklahoma of secretly observing Texas practices. And a UT gambling scandal that included an offensive lineman as the team bookie.

In that last scandal, players told Halliburton and me that a very famous Texas assistant football coach not only had knowledge of the gambling, but routinely got on team buses and joked with the bookie/player about the betting lines. But the story never ran in the paper because our lawyers insisted that the players actually sign a contract saying they would testify in court."