Instant Analysis: Suck on that, college football!

Ketchum

Resident Blockhead
Staff
May 29, 2001
Groggy-Dog.jpg

I've been covering Texas football on a professional level since 1994 and I have never seen the Longhorns play better in a true road game against a quality opponent.

Ever.

If there's ever been a better true road game performance than today's in Ann Arbor, you guys are going to have to tell me what it is because these eyes haven't seen it. This was a complete 31-12 dismantling of the defending national national champions... an outfit that does not lose at home.

Until today... by a lot.

It was a statement performance by the entire team and the message in that statement is that you better approach this 2024 Longhorns team at your own risk. Oh, and Quinn Ewers is headed for New York, pending 11 more games of good health.

Honestly, it's a damn shame this team has a game next week because it deserves to soak in this performance for a few days. Instead, they'll hear a lot about rat poison and the need to take UTSA seriously, which is fair and true. Still, they deserve to tear up dirty 6th for at least two nights.

That's the weight that championship level teams have to carry and that's what this team is.

Onwards we go...

(Other thoughts on the game...)

* Texas won the turnover battle 3-0. That'll do.

* As far as I'm concerned, that was the best game of Ewers' career. He was sensational. I don't care that the game-rating (151.6) would suggest that he's been better in other games. He was better today than he was at Alabama last year.

* Ewers by quarter...

(1st Q): 9 of 12 for 103 yards and a touchdown (174.6 rating)
(2nd Q): 9 of 14 for 100 yards and a touchdown (147.9 rating)
(3rd Q): 6 of 8 for 43 yards and a touchdown (161.4 rating)
(4th Q) 0 for 2 for 0 yards (0.0 rating)

* This Texas secondary is really, really good.

* With 3:29 left in the third quarter... it was checkmate.