ADVERTISEMENT

Just a Bit Outside: Texas has to get the girl's phone number to beat Alabama

Travis Galey

@travisgaley
Aug 12, 2012

In September of 1995, I was a 21-year-old Petty Officer Third Class working as an aviation ordnanceman with VFA-15, an F-18 squadron assigned to the U.S.S. Theodore Roosevelt. That month we wrapped up a six-month Mediterranean cruise and were pulling into Norfolk. The day we pulled in was one of the luckier days in my life. Everything seemed to go right.

Somehow, I was granted leave as soon as we pulled up to the dock. I didn’t have to travel back to Florida with the squadron. I got to walk right off the boat and go straight to the airport to catch a flight to Dallas to see my friends and family.

My luck continued as I got to the airport. The airline personnel saw me in my dress whites and upgraded my seat to first class.

Then, as luck would have it, a beautiful young lady came walking down the aisle and sat right next to me.

This was my day.

She and I hit it off instantly. The conversation flowed freely and easily. She was flying home to San Diego where she went to college thanks to scholarships she had won in beauty pageants. I regaled her with stories about my time in the Navy and how I would be getting out in the next year with plans to go to school and become a journalist or a lawyer.

Everything just clicked … until the very end.

As we landed in Dallas, I was going to be getting off while she was staying on to continue her flight back to San Diego. I could tell she didn’t want the conversation to end and obviously, I didn’t either. But I didn’t know how to end it smoothly. So, being the idiot I am, just said something like, have a good flight and walked right off … without getting her phone number.

This is not a story of regret. I met another beautiful lady later in life and we celebrate our 15th anniversary next week. I definitely outkicked my coverage with Mindy and I am a blessed man. This is a story about execution.