ADVERTISEMENT

OT: Interesting X thread on 20 misconceptions about the Revolutionary War . . .

HllCountryHorn

Unofficial history mod
Gold Member
Aug 14, 2010

He links here to other threads where he discusses each of the misconceptions in detail:​

Dr. Alexander S. Burns

@KKriegeBlog
13h • 25 tweets • 9 min read • Read on X

A thread of threads. 20 misconceptions about the Revolutionary War (or American War of Independence). Americans (proud to be one) are often quite ill-informed about the military struggle which led to our independence from Great Britain.

This isn't your father's rev war. 1/25 Image
I'm a history professor who studies the military history of George Washington's time: ~1739-1789. I teach at a small liberal arts college with a revolutionary mascot, and absolutely love my job, and our history. Spent the week in Philly, seeing cool Americana. 2/25

First of all, we didn't win the war bc we had rifles and they didn't. Mel Gibson is a fictional character, even if riflemen played an important role in engagements like King's Mountain, they were less important in George Washington's army after 1776 3/25

Unroll available on Thread Reader

Although the idea is that Americans nobly volunteered for the war (and many did) that army was destroyed in the 1775-1777 period, and conscription (a draft) played an important role after 1776. This is the single best book on our army: check it out. 4/25 Image

The Libertarian Party jokingly characterized American soldiers as drunken farmers, and that might ring more true than they realize. Americans were motivated to fight by both patriotic and materialistic appeals. 5/25

There are misconceptions about our enemies: the British and the "Hessians". First of all, we didn't win the war bc we hid behind trees and sniped the British who foolishly stood in lines out in the open. They took cover too. 6/25